Stencil Fascination

February 3, 2006

Since happening across British artist Banksy’s stencils, which adorn many walls, doorways, and even zoo animals in Britain, I have become fascinated with stencil work. Because I was not graced with an artistic gene, I find comfort in the fact that stencils can be created by even the most inartistic of God’s creatures, such as myself. Here is another tutorial.

I have been toying around with stencils of familiar images, but have not yet completed any works to speak of. Still, I wanted to share a few of my early creations, which I hope to complete as time and resources permit.

Here are three draft templates that need no introduction and links to the original photos: 1, 2, 3.

“The terrorist is the one with the small bomb.” — Brendan Bahan, an IRA veteran of the 1940s

Leave a Reply

