More Videos

July 25, 2006

I can’t seem to shake my addiction to Internet video, especially since everything on TV is such crap. Here is a video of Roger Waters and David Gilmour playing Grantchester Meadows, a haunting melody from Pink Floyd’s Ummagumma album, released in 1969. Buddy and Julie Miller are a husband/wife songwriting team of great repute. Here is Julie Miller’s I Still Cry, recorded live at Austin City Limits. I am blown away by Iris Dement singing Our Town. Her voice is one of a kind. Ali Farka Toure (RIP) was a Malian guitarist that many described as the missing link between the traditional music of Africa and the American blues. In this clip from Martin Scorsese’s Feel Like Going Home, Farka Toure plays a bit of music and discusses the African diaspora. Stevie Nicks did a duet with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers called Stop Dragging My Heart Around in 1981 when MTV was taking off. I think it rocks. Just for kicks, here is TP playing Here Comes My Girl from the Damn the Torpedoes album, released in 1979. Of course, these and all videos are better with good speakers.

In some way, each of these videos represents my deep need to take a little visit home as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

