Destruction of New Orleans Laid at Feet of US Army Corps of Engineers

March 10, 2007

I lived in the Uptown neighborhood of New Orleans for 2 years until deciding that the blazing hot Delta summers were too much for me. (I packed two cats and everything I owned into my car on a 90-degree morning and fled back to Portland.)

Even after living there and learning of New Orleans’ risk of catastrophe from a powerful hurricane, I never believed that the city would be destroyed in my lifetime.

Turns out the utter destruction of most of the city was entirely predictable (and predicted), as shown in these short video clips from Louisiana State University scientist Ivor van Heerden. He states that the Army Corps ignored federal law and underbuilt the levees for over three decades!

A few weeks ago, I recorded a short video by Chris Rose of the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper. His guest column about conditions in the city 500 days after Katrina was featured on The Newshour with Jim Lehrer.

Lastly, here is a link to an earlier post about Hurricance Katrina from one of my earliest entries on this blog in January 2006.

One Response to “Destruction of New Orleans Laid at Feet of US Army Corps of Engineers”

  1. doctorj Says:

    Thank you for the links. I don’t know how I missed those. I wish I had more faith that help will arrive in time, but I just don’t see the political will of this country to protect its own. We are on our own.


Leave a Reply

