Reading My Leavings

November 20, 2008

I stopped by my workplace to handle a couple of quick tasks after hours and the building cleaning crew was on the floor. I was organizing some papers around my desk when this guy walks by and says, “I’ve never seen you around here this late.”

“No, I usually leave a lot earlier,” I said. (Some people I work with stay late almost every night. Not my style if I can help it.)

“You play guitar don’t you?” he asked.

“Yeah”, I answered, wondering how he might know that.

“I thought so,” he said. “I saw a music catalog on your desk once.”

I thought about it for a minute and remembered a Musician’s Friend catalog that a friend from work loaned me a few weeks ago.

“You learn to know the people whose offices you clean when you empty their trash every day,” he offered. My thoughts flashed on what else he might know about me.

“Now, you see, you?” he said, before I could respond. “You like sticky notes and mint gum.”

Leave a Reply

